Honshu (Japan)

- Sacred Nature -

What perception do we have of Nature? Nourishing nature? Fragile or powerful nature? Sacred nature?

From this perception irremediably flows the relationship we have with it; exploit it, borrow it, protect it, fight it, worship it.

 

During our journey, we had the chance to observe and discuss the sacred nature of Nature. 

She is a source of inspiration for arabesques and figurative patterns in the arts of Islam in Central Asia. She is both feared and venerated in the hilltop villages of the Himalayas in Nepal where the giants of rock, snow and ice frequently recall their totipotence to the men who venture there. She is aestheticized in the holistic thoughts of Buddhism advocating the fusion of Man and the Cosmos. In India, she is still sometimes sacrificed on the altar of Hindu temples, but it is because she is perceived as a real gift, an offering up to the requirements of the gods and, in this sense, she is respected. She is illustrated and glorified through the monkey and elephant gods and many others. And then, she is even sacred when it comes to not exploiting or killing an animal, like cows for example.

But it was here in Japan, while walking around a temple, that we felt the need to reflect on the sanctity of Nature.

Although Buddhist, the Eihei-ji temple reveals Shinto elements. It is not uncommon for Japanese people to mix these beliefs in their daily lives. Shintoism is an animist religion whose major concept gives nature a divine character. Thus, a stone, a constellation, the wind or even Mount Fuji are sacred and believers advocate a feeling of communion with the forces of nature.

The serenity that emanated from this place, literally translated as "Temple of peace", is indescribable as Nature seemed to envelop this human construction of a soothing softness.

 

We found this serenity in several places of worship in Japanese land. In the middle of the rice fields, in the middle of the city of Kyoto, where the hand of man has transformed everything, there is suddenly an island of centuries-old cedars spared because in this place it is the place of the sacred.

This preserved nucleus around Nature eaten away by Man gives us a feeling of perplexity. Because the palpable hope of a Nature protected by ancestral beliefs that will certainly last over time is confronted with the anger of a massive destruction of Nature reduced to its economic value.

At a time when experts indicate that half of living species could disappear within a century and the entirety of tropical forests within 50 to 70 years at the current rate of deforestation [1], it is urgent to change our perception of Nature and give it back its sacred character. In this way, it is not a question of instilling animist beliefs where they have disappeared, but of re-enchanting Nature, restoring its splendor to perhaps restore the respect that we owe to it. Let's reinvent a representation of Nature making room for the sacred, a Nature whose intrinsic values ​​exceed its monetary values. A complex but beautiful Nature, sometimes destructive but always vital, respected for what she is.

 

 

[1] https://www.ecologique-solidaire.gouv.fr/biodiversite-presentation-et-enjeux

WHERE ARE WE RIGHT NOW?
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER!

Honshu (Japon)

- La Nature sacrée -

Quelle perception avons-nous de la Nature ? Nature nourricière ? Nature fragile ou puissante ? Nature sacrée ?

De cette perception découle irrémédiablement la relation que nous avons avec elle ; l’exploiter, lui emprunter, la protéger, la combattre, la vénérer.

 

Au cours de notre périple, nous avons eu la chance d’observer et d’échanger autour du caractère sacré de la Nature.

Elle est source d’inspiration pour les arabesques et les motifs figurés dans les arts de l’Islam en Asie Centrale. Elle est à la fois crainte et vénérée dans les villages perchés d’Himalaya au Népal où les géants de roche, de neige et de glace rappellent fréquemment leur totipotence aux Hommes qui s’y aventurent. Elle est esthétisée dans les pensées holistiques du bouddhisme prônant la fusion de l’Homme et du Cosmos. En Inde, elle est encore quelquefois sacrifiée sur l’autel des temples hindouistes, mais c’est parce qu’elle est perçue comme un véritable don, une offrande à la hauteur des exigences des dieux et, en ce sens, elle est respectée. Elle est illustrée et glorifiée à travers le dieu singe, éléphant et bien d’autres encore. Et puis, elle est même sacralisée quand il s’agit de ne pas exploiter ou tuer un animal, comme les vaches par exemple.

 

Mais c’est au détour d’un temple, ici au Japon, que nous avons senti le besoin de réfléchir sur le caractère sacré de la Nature.

Bien que bouddhiste, le temple Eihei-ji laisse transparaître des éléments shintoïstes. Il n’est en effet pas rare que les japonais mélangent ces croyances dans leur quotidien. Le shintoïsme est une religion animiste dont le concept majeur attribue à la nature un caractère divin. Ainsi, une pierre, une constellation, le vent ou encore le Mont Fuji sont sacrés et les croyants prônent un sentiment de communion avec les forces de la nature.

La sérénité qui se dégageait de ce lieu, littéralement traduit par « Temple de la paix », est indescriptible tant la nature semblait envelopper cette construction humaine d’une douceur apaisante.

 

Nous avons retrouvé cette sérénité dans plusieurs lieux de culte en terre nipponne.

Au milieu des rizières, en pleine ville de Kyoto, là où la main de l’Homme a tout transformé, on trouve soudain un îlot de cèdres centenaires épargnés car à cet endroit c’est la place du sacré.

Ce noyau préservé autour de la Nature rongée par l‘Homme nous procure un sentiment de perplexité. Car l’espoir palpable d’une Nature protégée par des croyances ancestrales qui perdureront certainement dans le temps se confronte à la colère d’une destruction massive de la Nature réduite à sa valeur économique.

 

À l’heure où les experts indiquent que la moitié des espèces vivantes pourrait disparaître d’ici un siècle et l’entièreté des forêts tropicales d’ici 50 à 70 ans au rythme actuel de la déforestation[1], il est urgent de changer notre perception de la Nature et lui redonner son caractère sacré.

Par là, il ne s’agit pas d’insuffler des croyances animistes là où elles ont disparu, mais de réenchanter la Nature, lui redonner tout son éclat pour peut-être restaurer le respect que nous lui devons.

Réinventons une représentation de la Nature faisant place au sacré, une Nature dont les valeurs intrinsèques dépassent ses valeurs monétaires. Une Nature complexe mais belle, parfois destructrice mais toujours vitale, respectée pour ce qu’elle est.

 

 

[1] https://www.ecologique-solidaire.gouv.fr/biodiversite-presentation-et-enjeux

OÙ SOMMES-NOUS ACTUELLEMENT ?
S'INSCRIRE A NOTRE NEWSLETTER