Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan

- Nature at its wildest - 

It is with emotion that we have entered Tajikistan, ready to face the famous and rough Pamir road. We passed, in few kilometers, from the arid plains of Uzbekistan to steep mountains overlooking a tumultuous river in Tajikistan. We felt ourselves reliving as the thermometer declined, the slopes bowed, and the small villages multiplied.

 

Nature here is raw, it dominates and imposes the road to be taken, along the river, between the cliff sides and the impassable sharp peaks. Nature contrasts with the sincere and radiant smile of the men and women who cross our eyes, and the hordes of children who rush to the truck shouting "Hello! " loudly.

 

Here, we feel that in the image of this environment, the human lives in the raw state. From thin, fertile fringes bordering the river beneath the peaks to 6000 m to arid highlands at 4000 m, the artificial gives way to the authentic. There is no choice but to live in harmony with Nature, and to adapt to each season to take advantage of the resources it deigns to bequeath.

 

Here, we breed and raise cattle with as much buoyancy and pride as on the other side of the river, in Afghanistan.

 

So we contemplate, admire and immerse ourselves in this unique atmosphere.


Tajikistan will have marked us. The poorest country in Central Asia, it is here that we met the most beautiful and honest smiles.

It seems that Human, in his raw state, is humble. Humble in front of the Nature that he respects and that preserves to make sure to spend the following winter. Humble also in front of his neighbor, the Stranger he welcomes under his yurt and to whom he offers everything he has; bread, tea and yak butter. Beautiful lessons of humility that we had here.

 

The "yurt" experience will be renewed in Kyrgyzstan. The silent approaches to yaks and the exploration of Far East villages too. But more touristic than its Tajik neighbor, we already feel that Nature and Men are beginning to transform. And finally, just as tourists as we are, we wonder about our role in this metamorphosis of the authentic into factitious, from the raw state into artifice.
 

WHERE ARE WE RIGHT NOW?
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER!

Tadjikistan et Kirghizistan

- La Nature à l'état brut - 

C’est avec émotion que nous sommes rentré.e.s au Tadjikistan, prêt.e.s à affronter la célèbre et rude route du Pamir. Nous sommes passé.e.s, en l’espace de quelques kilomètres, des plaines arides de l’Ouzbékistan à des montagnes abruptes surplombant une rivière tumultueuse au Tadjikistan. Nous nous sommes senti.e.s revivre au fur et à mesure que le thermomètre déclinait, que les pentes s’inclinaient, que les petits villages se multipliaient.

 

La Nature ici est brute, elle domine et impose la route à prendre, le long de la rivière, entre les flancs de falaise et les pics acérés infranchissables. Elle tranche avec le sourire sincère et radieux des hommes et des femmes qui croisent notre regard, et les hordes d’enfants qui se ruent vers le camion en criant « Hello ! » à tue-tête.

 

Ici, nous sentons qu’à l’image de cet environnement, l’humain vit à l’état brut. Des minces franges fertiles bordant la rivière sous les sommets à 6000 m aux hauts plateaux arides à 4000 m, l’artificiel laisse place à l’authentique. Il n’y a pas d’autre choix que de vivre en harmonie avec la Nature, et de s’adapter à chaque saison pour profiter des ressources qu’elle daigne léguer.

 

Ici, on cultive et on élève le bétail avec autant d’entrain et de fierté que de l’autre côté de la rivière, en Afghanistan, que nous avons longé pendant plus de 300 km.

 

Alors nous, on contemple, on admire et on s’imprègne de cette atmosphère unique.


Le Tadjikistan nous aura marqué. Plus pauvre pays d’Asie centrale, c’est pourtant là que nous avons croisé les plus beaux et francs sourires.

Il semblerait que l’Homme, à l’état brut, est humble. Humble devant la Nature qu’il respecte et qu’il préserve pour s’assurer de passer l’hiver suivant. Humble aussi devant son prochain, l’Etranger qu’il accueille sous sa yourte et à qui il offre tout ce qu’il a ; du pain, du thé et du beurre de yack. Belles leçons d’humilité que nous avons eu ici.

 

L’expérience « yourte » se sera renouvelée eu Kirghizistan. Les approches silencieuses de yacks et les explorations de villages du « Far East » aussi. Mais plus touristique que son voisin tadjik, on sent déjà que Nature et Hommes commencent à se transformer. Et finalement, tout autant touristes que nous sommes, on se questionne sur notre rôle dans cette métamorphose de l’authentique en factice, de l’état brut en artifice.

OÙ SOMMES-NOUS ACTUELLEMENT ?
S'INSCRIRE A NOTRE NEWSLETTER